Safe-D: Safety through Disruption

Student and Researcher Awards

Django Bergcollins honored as UTC Student of the Year

Django Bergcollins

Django Bergcollins, an Undergraduate Civil Engineering with a minor in Computer Science at San Diego State University, has been honored as a University Transportation Center (UTC) Student of the Year for 2022. He assisted with two Safe-D projects: Developing an Intelligent Transportation Management Center (ITMC) with a Safety Evaluation Focus for Smart Cities and A Holistic Work Zone Safety Alert System through Automated Video and Smartphone Sensor Data Analysis

Alexandria Rossi-Alvarez named University Transportation Center Student of the Year

Alexandria Rossi-Alvarez

Alexandria “Alli” Rossi-Alvarez, a doctoral student in the Grado Department of Industrial and Systems Engineering at Virginia Tech conducting research at the Virginia Tech Transportation Institute (VTTI), has been named a University Transportation Center (UTC) Student of the Year. She is a primary investigator on the Safe-D project Allusion 2.

Smart Work Zone System wins Innovation Award

Innovation Award Winners - Photo from ATSSA

A Dynamic, Real-Time Smart Work Zone received a second place innovation award ATSSA’s 52nd Annual Convention & Traffic Expo.

Adam Novotny wins UTC Student of the Year

Adam Novotny

Adam Novotny of VTTI has been honored as a UTC student of the year. Each year, the U.S. DOT honors outstanding students from participating UTCs for their achievements and promise of future contributions to the transportation field. Students of the Year are selected based on their accomplishments in such areas as technical merit and research, academic performance, professionalism, and leadership. Adam was first author on a soon-to-be published-paper titled “Concept Development of the Novel Pre Rear-End Positioning and Risk Extenuation System (PREPARES).” In 2019, his team won the international title with this project in the Collegiate Student Safety Technology Design Adam Novotny wins UTC Student of the Year

Alex Noble (VT) Honored as Safe-D 2019 Outstanding Student of the Year

Alex Noble (VT) is was recently recognized as the 2019 Safe-D National UTC Student of the year for her numerous contributions and extraordinary efforts during the past year at the CUTC Annual Awards Banquet held on January 11th, 2020 in Washington, D.C.

Safe-D Student Alex Noble Wins Student Awards at HFES

Safe-D student Alex Noble (VT) won the prestigious Alphonse Chappanis Best Student Paper award at the 63rd Human Factors and Ergonomics Society Meeting on Nov. 1st in Seattle, WA.