Safe-D: Safety through Disruption


Zac Doerzaph speaks at Distracted Driving Summit

Zac Doerzaph

Safe-D director Zac Doerzaph wrapped up DRIVE SMART Virginia‘s 9th Annual Distracted Driving Summit with some great information on what is coming next in traffic safety: “Naturalistic driving data will be even more important in the future.”

CIITR’s Jason Wu Applies LiDAR Sensors to Safety, Traffic Monitoring

TTI researchers collect data for LiDAR research on The Texas A&M University System’s RELLIS Campus.

Texas A&M Transportation Institute (TTI) researchers in the Center for International Intelligent Transportation Research (CIITR) are currently implementing a pilot roadside LiDAR-based traffic monitoring system at international ports of entry (POEs).

Thinking Transportation podcast

Zac Doerzaph

Safe-D director Zac Doerzaph (VTTI) sat down with Greg Winfree, director of TTI, to talk about the nation’s mobility priorities and what university-based research can do to support them on the Thinking Transportation Podcast.

VT Doodle

Spin Researcher Jean Paul Talledo Vilela Updates GPS and Gyroscope Software

Safe-D researcher Jean Paul Talledo Vilela (VTTI) was featured in the Virginia Tech Doodle on September 20th. The doodle shows him updating GPS and Gyroscope software.

Increasing safety for electric cars and pedestrians

Michael Roan works in the Acoustics, Signal Processing, and Immersive Reality Lab. Photo provided by Michael Roan.

An interdisciplinary research group at Virginia Tech is using an award of $550,000 to create a virtual environment to test safety measures for the interaction between electric vehicles (EVs) and pedestrians. The award is an 18-month project funded by the Safety through Disruption (Safe-D) University Transportation Center.

VTTI/Safe-D Hosts USDOT Deputy Assistant Secretary for Research and Technology, Diana Furchtgott-Roth and Attendees of FAST-zero Symposium

The U.S. Department of Transportation’s Deputy Assistant Secretary for Research and Technology, Diana Furchtgott-Roth, and other attendees from the Future Active Saftey Technology(FAST) Toward Zero Accidents Symposium visited VTTI on a tour to learn more about VTTI and Safe-D research.